Beyond the Cave

The last time I was trapped in a cave I was trying to figure out how to save the World. That one time when I was depressed and feeling worthless I was very concerned about World hunger. When I broke up with my boyfriend and felt like my life was over, I was was planning my next agenda in bringing Christ to the lost. Ok, I was never trapped in a cave.  And I’m pretty sure you know none of this is true. But sometimes when we are going through tough times, it feels like we are in a dark cave and we can’t see past our painful circumstances.  News flash: Christians are not super human. Well I’m not anyways. When I am feeling depressed, trapped, rejected, hurt, or in any kind of bondage, my only concern at the moment is how to get free. I am not thinking about the World. I am thinking about myself  and how to go on and change my situation.  And almost everytime I try to  free myself from emotional caves, I try to do it myself. It’s my rescue plan default.  But it never works. We usually reach the end  of self before we realize God has been trying to free us all along.  Before we can grasp the Gospel of salvation and how to live out or faith,  we need to face the fact that we cannot save ourselves.  Where we end, God begins. But the only way for some of us to realize this, is by trying  to get out of the cave on our own and in our own way.  When we surrender to God and allow Him to free us from our bondages, then we  can clearly grasp how to live out our faith on a daily basis.

We  need to keep this in mind when encouraging others or sharing the Gospel.  Sometimes we forget where God saved us from. We get on our high horse and look down our noses and say things like, ” Have more faith and God will heal you, ”  or , ” Oh you are struggling with sin? Just stop it and you will find freedom. ”    We say these words like it’s as easy as fliping a switch  or applying  a simple formula.  As much as we try to assign step by step formulas to Christianity….it’s not the way it works.  Let’s get off our high horse because we are all on the same level called humanity.  Let’s look each other in the eyes and say, ” I know you are hurting or struggling and I know it’s so difficult. Let’s pray together and ask for God’s help. ”   We need to put our arms around each other and walk towards the cave’s exit and and ask God for a shovel.  As soon as we let God free us and heal us, that is when we can see beyond the cave.

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”  Galatians 5:1

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me,

because he has anointed me

to preach good news to the poor.

He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners

and recovery of sight for the blind,

to release the oppressed,” Luke 4:18

Leave a Reply

