To Get to the Other Side

20121011-205249.jpg

I can go that way. Or maybe this way. Or how about back that way? You know what ? I have no Idea which way to go so I am just going to sit right here in the middle of the road and look at the pretty stars until I hear a loud voice from the heavens telling me which way to go. Maybe, just maybe, one of the opportunities at the end of these roads will just get tired of waiting for me and come meet me at the crossroads.

We all find ourselves at a crossroads at some point.

It’s an overwhelming place to be. Usually a crossroads occurs right after accomplishing something. You just graduated from school, or finished a program, or got laid off from a job, or ended a relationship. People congratulate, or sympathize, or celebrate but the inevitable question arises and everyone you know is asking you, ” So what are going to do next? ”

I hate that question.

Mostly because sometimes I just don’t know. Or other times I share my dreams and the person thinks I am crazy, or tells me I am doing my life the wrong way. Other people’s definition of success combined with my own doubts, creates a big ball of confusion in my soul. I start questioning everything I have done so far in my life. Yes I have grown in so many way, but God am I really hearing you correctly?

Thankfully we aren’t defined by what we do and the definition of success isn’t a universal concept.

We are defined by Christ and success means doing God’s will.

But how do we know what that is? Yes we can all pray and hear God moving us in a particular direction. But sometimes we look to the sky and ask God what to do and our response is a resounding chorus of the Cricket Chirp.

I believe that when God seems quiet, it doesn’t mean to just do nothing until you can hear Him. I think it means we have freedom do decide. It means we have to use our discernment and wisdom that God gave us, and make a decision.

When it comes to making big life decisions, I think we forget that God also speaks through His Word.

You know that verse that says, ” Yes you should take that job as a teacher.” and the another one that says, ” Go join the Circus.” ? Ya me either. Of course we don’t think of Scripture first because it seems so distant from our everyday decisions. But the Bible tells us things like:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” Proverbs 3″5-6.

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. “1 Corinthians 10:31

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,” 2 Timothy 3:16

The Scriptures tell us what gives glory to God. We know integrity, love, joy, peace, and compassion are things that give God glory.

If God isn’t giving us specific vision for which direction to go, I believe we have the freedom choose any option if it glorifies God.

I know it would be so much easier if God just told us what to do. Yes it is a lot of pressure to make these decisions but I think we are blessed to have this freedom.

We are free to make mistakes.
We are free to learn new things .
We are free to back track and choose another route.
We are free too choose.

God can also speak to us through the peace of His presence. We can make a choice but then suddenly we don’t have peace about this decision . Or we may choose a direction that is risky but feel a peace that passes understanding . Psalms 85:8 says,

“I will hear what God the LORD will say;
For He will speak peace to His people, to His godly ones; But let them not turn back to folly.”

He will speak peace to us as we choose.

Are you at a crossroads ?? God will guide you.

Trust Him.

Join the Circus.

Or take that job.

Or write that book.

You don’t have to figure out what to do with your life.

Just live it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

