Buried Treasure

Virtuous Tweed Ride

Virtuous Tweed Ride (Photo credit: W.D. Vanlue)

It’s that time again! Fake Fruit Friday! Here is one of my “fake blogs” from Facebook, written April 23, 2011.

What do you spend the most time doing? That is what you value. No matter what you say your values are or wish your values were, what you are making time for is what you value in reality. Sometimes our values we have in our heart are buried under layers of distractions. It happens to all of us. But after a while of saying how much we care for the poor while we are being distracted by everything but helping the poor, starts to look a little silly. We start to lose integrity when our words don’t match our actions. What are you values? What are you living for that is so rooted in your heart you would die for it? What does your life show that you value? If you died right now what would people say about you and what you lived for? We all struggle with wanting to do what we don’t do and doing what we shouldn’t. Romans says, “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. … For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing…So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!” IF we just come before God with humble hearts, he will rescue us from ourselves. He understands our struggle. When we are living life without integrity it is like we are riding on a excercise bike in our livingroom. We are working over time but getting nowhere fast as our passions just sit inside our hearts without an escape. But when our values start flowing out in to our actions daily, we have jumped on to an actual bike, and now we can go somewhere; change; grow; learn; love. Let us look inward at our hearts and see how we can let our passions flow out of our lives so we can love better. Let’s dig though the distractions and excuses, find the treasures in our hearts and bring them out in the world so we can watch God do amazing things in our lives and the lives of those around us!

Leave a Reply

