A Blog I don’t want to write

Fake Fruit  Friday !

Facebook note  dated June 3rd, 2011

Writing this blog makes me face myself and things I need to fix. I have noticed something in my self and people around me. We make statements to try and justify our sins.  They usually go something like this: I know it’s wrong but   I’ve been going through _____insert difficult circumstance___ so I deserve to do ___insert sin/indulgnence/ or un healthy choice. Some how we can reward our good behavior with bad behavior? Or we have integrity untill things get hard and we allow our hard circumstances to control us and give us some excuse to bend the rules or skirt around the way God asks us to live. God’s way sounds full of rainbows and unicorns until His way conflicts with our way. Suddenly we are coming up with reasons why the thing we want to do, that we know God doesn’t want us to, is the only way we can survive, when in reality God is who we should be turning to for survival.  I have been through this dilemma many times in my life and it’s all about letting go. We hold so tightly to things we think we will not be able to function without. We don’t realize we aren’t breathing until we let go. Every time I’ve struggled with letting certain things go, I have always looked back and wondered why I was holding to tightly to somthing that gives only momentary happiness. Having integrity and being free from the bondage of that sin or a unhealthy place gives lasting joy. God help me and anyone reading this or even not reading this to let go of the the things that keep us from being free. Help us know that we don’ t need the things we hold onto for security or happiness. All we need is you God. Life is so much more free knowing we are blameless before you. The things I hold onto that you have asked me to let go of, I am putting before You.  I can’t do this without you.

Search me, God, and know my heart;

test me and know my anxious thoughts.

See if there is any offensive way in me,

and lead me in the way everlasting.  Psalm 139:23

2 thoughts on “A Blog I don’t want to write

Leave a Reply

