Hermit crabs need friends too

Remember those times in high school where you had a group of best friends that you always hung out with after school? That group of good people who had your back and you went on crazy adventures with?

I don’t.  If you did that’s awesome. I’ve always been quite jealous of you.

I was the quiet one that had a best friend or two. I couldn’t wait to get home from school so I could be alone or spend time with family.  Even after high school I was very anti social. Crowds and confident people made me uncomfortable.  I liked my alone time, but after years of being a hermit, I realized something was lacking.  I felt lonely. I couldn’t step out and obey Christ’s command to love, when I didn’t have many friends to love.

Being a Christian requires fellowship with other Christians.

Not only is fellowship energizing to our spirit and to our lives, but it energizes the body of Christ.

After years of making bad decisions and feeling alone because I didn’t have a group of Christian friends to keep me accountable, I finally looked to God and said, ” God, I am lonely. I need other Christians to hang out with. Please help me find some. ”   God said, ” You go to church every week but you don’t talk to any people.  Fellowship is all around you, but you choose fear instead. Go to church and talk to people, and I will provide fellowship. It’s really up to you.”

I was scared. I hate small talk when meeting people. I didn’t want to. But I was at the end of myself. I figured God’s way had to be better.   So I started going to the weekly college group. It was awkward. I wanted to go home. But I went every week. And suddenly I had a group of friends and I wasn’t lonely anymore. Suddenly I wasn’t afraid. Suddenly I needed college group.  My soul needed it.

Our soul needs it.  Even if you think you are fine, trying to be all independent and brooding. You need fellowship. Ya it’s risky. People might hurt you. People will misunderstand you.  Fellowship is messy and difficult, but it provides accountability and love.  If you feel alone.  It’s up to you to go out and find fellowship. People aren’t going to break down your door to spend time with you.

Fellowship changed my life. There has been drama and pain but there has also been unconditional love and adventures.  Do you go home at night and lie in bed thinking how lonely you are?   Well you can change this. Fellowship doesn’t happen to people. You have to open your door, go to church, or the coffee shop, or the grocery store, and talk to people.  Invite them over, find out whats happening. You might even turn down invites.  People might be reaching out to you but you don’t notice.  God can lead you to the water, or bring it to you but it’s still up to you to drink.

But the point of fellowship isn’t only for us and the church.  We are called to spread the good news.  Let’s look for Christian fellowship  with that in mind. We don’t just want an exclusive Christian club.  We want to encourage each other, keep each other accountable, and share this joy, passion, and the love of Christ wherever we go.

Fellowship will not only change your life, but it can change the World.

“And they devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers. And awe came upon every soul, and many wonders and signs were being done through the apostles. And all who believed were together and had all things in common. And they were selling their possessions and belongings and distributing the proceeds to all, as any had need. And day by day, attending the temple together and breaking bread in their homes, they received their food with glad and generous hearts,…” Acts 2: 42-47

Leave a Reply

