Happy Thanksgiving?

Whew. This is a tough blog for me to write at the moment. It’s thanksgiving morning and the whole morning feels like I’m in some dysfunctional movie about a family getting ready for thanksgiving. My family has been crying all morning dealing with pain a family member has caused. I would share more but it’s more about my sister and It’s too fresh for me to go into detail. But it hurts. We are all trying to hold ourselves together and plant the thanksgiving smile on our face.  Then my dad backed up into my mom’s car, cracking both bumpers. This sort of thing can ruin my dads day and then ruin all of our day. Thankfully my dad started making jokes and said, ” This is me choosing to laugh instead of cry…it’s more fun.”  It was pretty surprising coming from my dad, but it’s true.

What can we do in the face of relationship pain, or accidents that cause financial stress, or just plain depression?  It will eat up our joy if we let it. If we focus on it we will become bitter.  Let’s look at what we do have instead of what is going wrong.

If someone has hurt you, look to those who treat you right and show then some appreciation. Hug them. Tell them you love them.

If you’re in a financial bind, thank God for the things you have. Don’t allow money to become your god.

If the things that you hold dear, like your car, phone, computer, …etc,  has broken or been taken from you, let go  of that emotional attachment to things. They can’t love you back. Focus more on the people in your life and love them more than the things you have.  If we treated people the same way we treated our things, can you imagine how our relationships would change?

Whatever you are going through this Thanksgiving, I pray that God meets you where you are and give you peace. Focus on the people and things you have in your life. Take this day and be thankful for those things. Let your thankfulness spill over into tomorrow, and the next day, and the years to come. Thankfulness can be our ammunition in  the war against our circumstances. Let’s fight against bitterness and cynicism.

And know that I am thankful for all of you! Love you!

I pray you all truly have a Happy Thanksgiving.

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving?

  1. This style of writing reminds me of my own. Thank you for pointing out the solution to sorrows faced by those clothed in human skin.

Leave a Reply

