Lost in the Garden project

When I was a kid, you could make me do anything for some peanut butter and chocolate.  I was always pretty sure God was present in the chocolate, peanut butter combo, the same way he is present in music and the ocean.

I was a selfish child. This became evident to my mom when we went to the grocery store. I would ask for candy at the check out,  and when faced with the answer “no,” I would then throw my self on the floor and flop like a fish out of water. Sorry about that mom.

The first time I remember making a decision to be selfless, involved a Reese’s peanut butter cup. I was playing with my best friend and there was only one left; a miniature one.  So I decided we should split it, but I wanted it to be even. I went to the kitchen and cut it with a butter knife. I accidentally cut it unevenly and stared at it…and stared at it. I really wanted the bigger piece. I took a deep breath and made the decision to take the smaller piece. It took every ounce of strength in me. Come on, it’s chocolate and peanut butter!

But then I felt something change in me; a flip of the switch. It felt good to take the smaller piece. As the chocolate and peanut butter swirled around in my mouth I realized it tasted better than ever before.  I decided I wanted to be selfless all the time. I was aware that righteousness and wickedness were at war  inside my heart,  and in that quiet moment with my best friend and a Reese’s Peanut butter cup, it felt  like I punched wickedness in the face, and I wanted to keep punching.

One thought on “Lost in the Garden project

  1. you’re funny. now this fruit is better than peanut butter and chocolate?

Leave a Reply

