Quick! There’s the Exit!

imagesCA0WL45ZThere I was, driving home from his house, guilt ridden…again.  I was suffocating.  I was trapped by sin. We sin when we settle for something we want now, instead of what God has promised us if we wait. I didn’t believe I would find that genuine true love from a respectable Christian man. So I stayed with my boyfriend who I knew wasn’t what God wanted for me. I settle for meaningless sex when God would whisper in my ear that I was worth more than I allowed myself to be treated. I didn’t believe God. I wanted to feel loved and desired and every time I would try to end the relationship with my boyfriend I would reach a point where I was too sacred to really let it go. I knew what I wanted but I was too afraid to lose what I had. I would be strong for a while and then I would be tired, or stressed, or lonely and would end up right back in the chains of my bondage. I felt alone. But I wasn’t. I look back and God was there the whole time, telling me to get out. I reached a point where I was so far gone I couldn’t hear God anymore.  I would pray but hear nothing. I would cry and know it was my fault. I wandered off the path. But I wasn’t out of God’s reach because I was still in his hands. He was out of my reach because I wanted human love more than His love.

Are you trapped in your sin? Is fear keeping you from becoming free? Whatever it is, drugs, sex, gluttony, fear, dishonesty, etc… you are not too far gone and you are not alone!  You may not hear God right now but he sees you, loves you, and is fighting for you. He is waiting for you to reach the end of yourself and come back to him. We have all been tempted by so many things.  There are so many visuals which  become engrained into our brain that suddenly we can’t help but believe that we will be satisfied by this world. Jesus came down as a man and was tempted by the same things. He knows what you are going through. But even when we aren’t faithful, God is! Every time you are tempted with sin, there is a moment you can choose to give in, or you can  find that green glowing EXIT sign. There is always a way out. The EXIT sign is your way to freedom. It is the worst feeling ever when you give in to sin and then afterwards you have the heavy weight of guilt and depression on your soul. It’s a dark evil black cloud that follow you around, keeping you a slave to sin. It was in those moments I would declare it was the last time ! But then I would feel even worse when I  continued on the same vicious cycle.  Sin breeds more sin.

You can’t quit sin on your own. The enemy wants you to think you are condemned so you might as well give up trying to be a better person. We need to fight! Christ already died for our sins and he wants us to repent so we can find freedom.  When we talk about salvation, we usually throw the word around as if it always refers only  to our salvation from the hell in the after life. But when we accept Christ’s gift of salvation we will also be free from our own personal hell on earth.  We can be dead while we are alive.  God can save you now! He can save you from yourself! He can save you from this world!  God wants us to be free in this life so we can spread the gospel of grace and so he can bless us. He made this life for us to enjoy Him and  each other, and when we are trapped in sin we are misusing the things he gave us to enjoy and meant to give him glory.  We can enjoy Heaven on earth when we live a life in obedience to our God and in the light of Christ’s grace.

Ask God to break your chains. Lay your sins before the foot of the cross. His grace is enough.I pray for you, that you will stop trying to do this on your own and that God will be your strength. I pray that you will look for the EXIT sign next time you are being tempted and feel weak, or tired, or stressed, or hopeless, or lonely….Look for those glowing green letters and run for your life! God will take care of you more than your vices will. God loves you and wants to bless you! Trust him and head towards the Exit and into the light!

1 Corinthians 10:13 ”  No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted,he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.”

John 10:10

 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

Leave a Reply

