Why can’t you get it through your thick head that you have a gift?

Guitar-LessonSo In the last few years, with God’s help, I have been able to get past many fears and low self-esteem in order to take on a leadership role in my church. But I still struggle with insecurity in some areas…one of them being playing and singing worship on my guitar. I’ve had a few people tell me I am good enough to play in front of people. But every time I try, I get so nervous I mess up and give up. I have been avoiding it all together. It’s too scary. It’s been a while since I played in front of people. I have been playing on my own, just having my personal worship sessions with God. The other day my mom was having a hard time so I decided to get my guitar out and just sing worship songs with her.  She said, “You should be playing worship at church Brandi. You’re really good.”  I have a hard time believing her or anyone who says that. My fear just feels too great and I feel I can’t overcome it.  I was thinking about this and  my questions  is…I wonder why we so easily believe people when they say we aren’t good enough, but when people say we are valuable, talented, and gifted, we have to be convinced time and time again?

Leave a Reply

