Bananas and Coconut Popsicles

Kinfolk_honey-ginger-coconut-popsicles_web_12

I left the house mad this morning.

A family member ate ALL of my bananas and most of my coconut popsicles. I wouldn’t care if it was just one, but I just went shopping and I have zero money left to buy more for two weeks.

Maybe you relate and this makes you mad too. If you’ve had people eat your food, I’m sure it stirs up your anger. How dare they!

This might seem silly to you. It’s just fruit. It’s just popsicles.

Well these small moments are the moments it’s hard for me to actually live out my life in love. A little thing ticks me off early in the morning and I leave the house in a tizzy feeling like the whole world is against me. I had to talk myself out of being upset, all the way to work. I live at home for free. I’ve eaten other peoples’ food before. By the time I got to work I felt so silly because it’s not the end of the world.

When my 4 year old niece cries over something silly I say, “Guess what? Monkeys aren’t attacking the World.” and she always starts to laugh. I had to tell myself that monkeys aren’t attacking the World.

Sometimes we think trying to live like Christ is all about avoiding things like drinking, smoking, drugs, murder, foul language, lying, legalism, watching too much blood and guts(unless it’s the Walking Dead of course),  and so on and so forth. But sometimes it’s less about avoiding certain things and it’s more about  how we react to people eating our food, or asking us to help out when we are tired, how we treat our family, and how we treat people on a basic human level, day to day.   These days,  this  has been my struggle; the temptation to be selfish in the small moments.

I think, instead of just having a knee jerk reaction to things, we should take a breath. Let’s tell the people who have upset us, how we feel, but realize that these things are trivial. Many times we might have the right to be upset, but if we communicate in love, and try to solve the problem instead of just getting angry, the issue might not happen again. If we just get mad, yell, and then dwell on it, we will get bitter over silly things and later we just wait for it to happen again so we can pounce on that person.

Things are usually not as big of a deal when we let our emotions subside.

What is your struggle in the small moments? Let’s ask God to help us not be selfishly reactionary and to take some time to respond calmly and in love. I know I need God’s help.

But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness.
James 3:17-18

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.
Colossians 3:15

Leave a Reply

