Through the Cracks

 

images (7)

When I pray for God to give me strength, he provides me with coffee.

I’m pretty sure coffee is the strength of God in liquid form.

There’s probably a verse about it in the book Hebrews somewhere.

I just got a second job. I am so tired. I’m also joyful because I see God working in my life. But I’m still tired. I haven’t written in a week and that is discouraging. I hate saying that my passion is writing, yet it’s the last on my list of things to do. Working to pay off debt,  doing ministry, and cultivating relationships seem more important right now.  I am passionate about those things too, but I know I need to somehow fixate a time for writing in my schedule and I’m going to work on it.

We all have seasons in our lives where suddenly our schedules are so crammed full, we don’t know how we won’t go crazy. I’ve had to stop thinking about the whole week and just focus on what I’m doing each moment and do my best at it. Thinking too far ahead will just give me an anxiety attack. I think it’s okay to have a busy schedule doing things that are important to you and doing the things you know you are called to. But it seems like some of the most important things tend to get left by the way side, and we have to fight to keep them apart of our daily lives.  It’s easy to let life happen TO us while we are being washed under the waves of what we HAVE to do, as everything that makes life meaningful becomes lost in the chaos.

When we get caught up in the things we have to do, one thing that easily gets over looked is meaningful, intentional relationships. What relationships do you have that maybe you’re neglecting?

Well they don’t put much effort into spending time with me, so why should I?  Our schedules don’t match up so we just are too busy. They said or did something to hurt my feelings and I don’t feel like dealing with it. 

We can list all the excuses, but relationships are one the most important things in life. Especially when we are busy, because suddenly we find ourselves alone, in our own isolation. There’s no accountability or someone to vent to.  Not only do we have nobody to call when we need a friend, but our friends are lacking our friendship. They need us just like we need them. I’m not trying to make you feel guilty. I know we all don’t have time for a ton of friends. But those few important ones that God has brought into your life deserve some attention. Call that friend you haven’t seen in a while and just get some coffee.  See how they are doing, and they need anything.

Maybe you don’t have any close friends? Starting new friendships can be awkward. But think of a few acquaintances that you’d like to be closer to. Ask them to lunch or just tell them straight up that you’d like to be better friends. Proverbs 17:17 says, “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for a time of adversity.”  It’s so important that we have each other to help us through life.

Another thing that tends to disappear in our lives when we get busy, is doing things we LOVE.  You have to go to school. You have to work to pay the bills. You have to go grocery shopping. You have this thing you need to prepare for ministry.  That is a lot of HAVE TOs.  Not that we don’t love some of those things, but I mean do things that are just for fun. Set aside a time to  read, paint, create, a dance class,  board games, and dinner with friends.

Sometimes we have to discipline ourselves to have fun.

Solomon said, “So I recommend having fun, because there is nothing better for people to do in this world than to eat, drink, and enjoy life. That way they will experience some happiness along with all the hard work God gives them.”  (Eccl. 8:15)

Yes there are so many things that get lost in our lives but lastly I want to mention how we easily forget to PRAY. We need to make sure we are filling our lives with the things God wants us to be doing. He’s given you gifts and talents to be used to change lives and give him glory. How can we know what God wants of us if we aren’t communicating with him? We don’t want to spend our lives in this stressful schedule that doesn’t even do us or others any good right? Let’s talk to our creator and ask him what it is that we should be spending our time doing.

We are hearing from many people about what we should be doing right?  Society tells us what it means to be successful. Our parents tell us what they think we should be doing. We compare our lives to other’s and feel inadequate.

It doesn’t matter what everyone else is doing or saying.

It only matters what God is saying. When we ask him, he will guide us, directing us in places we never thought we would go. He will help us use our gifts, providing opportunity to practice our skills, and he will give us the strength to live a life worthy of our calling.  We can’t forget that God will never leave us or forsake us. Even when we aren’t sure what God is saying, he will guide us through his Word and through other people who might give us advice or insight.

If we really want to live a life led by God, we cannot let prayer fall through the cracks of life.

Philippians says, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  He will guide us and give us peace as we do the best we can to live a life of faith.

This blog would go on forever if I tried to list everything that falls through the cracks of life. What do you havehttp://howtomakeafruitsalad.com/?page_id=2982 to fight to keep in your busy life? How do you keep it in your life?

Want to read more like this ? subscribe !

2 thoughts on “Through the Cracks

  1. Love this whole post but, “pretty sure coffee is the strength of God in liquid form” is brilliant and should be put on a t-shirt 🙂

Leave a Reply

